Pencil Portrait of My Former Clinic Nurse

I decided to upload some of my old pencil drawings.  I put them up on Facebook years ago, but they’re visible only to my friends there, and I figured that others might find them inspiring.

Just before finishing internal medicine residency in June 2012, my continuity clinic nurse for all three years, Pam, asked me to draw something for her.  I decided to draw her portrait, with graphite on Bristol board, freehand while looking at her Facebook profile photo.  I started with her eyes…

DSC03540

Then, I added her nose and lips (the lighting was different in this photo, so the paper looks blue)…

DSC03542

Here’s the finished portrait:

DSC03551

Leave a Reply

