Für Elise on Classical Guitar, Abbreviated

I was excited to find an abbreviated version of Für Elise in the supplemental section of volume 1 of The Christopher Parkening Guitar Method.  I started learning it in December, 2015.  This is how I sounded when I started practicing this piece:

I’ve now practiced it for a bit more than six months, along with many of the other 87 pieces of classical guitar music I can now play. I still practice guitar for about thirty minutes daily.  Here’s how it sounds now:

(That intermittent snapping sound isn’t a crackling fireplace.  It’s a creaky wooden chair!)

I just checked it against David Brandon’s performance on the CD accompanying the book. It sounds decently similar.  I still have places where I can improve–e.g., it could be more legato at the beginning and I should have slowed down at a couple points later on–but, as they say, musicianship is a marathon, not a sprint.

Leave a Reply

